The Terrible Fail of Pineappley Pineapple Upside Down Cake


This is the face of failure.

O.k. it wasn’t a complete failure, two people thoroughly enjoyed this cake. The lesson to be learned here is that certain flavors, like pineapple and coconut are not widely received with wonder and drool. If you want to be admired for your baking skillz: ask first, then bake.

In case you love pineapple here’s what I did:
Yes there is a clearance sticker for 75 cents on that cake mix. I have a family full of deal-hunters and that’s how I end up with box mixes for things like pineapple cake. I don’t like to waste food, but what the heck do you do with a pineapple box mix? I thought of pineapple upside down cake, but apparently that’s made with yellow cake. However it was 10:00 pm on Sunday and I needed a cake for Monday. Thus: Pineappley Pineapple Upside Down Cake (let it be noted that if I had just made the box mix and put frosting on it a lot more of that cake would have been eaten, but still not all of it like in general).

I actually followed the directions on the box and used oil instead of butter, breaking my own rule. But, cold butter isn’t any better and I’m not good at microwave softening, I always make a mess. Plus it was midnight by the time I got back from the store with the pineapple and cherries.

The upside down part is actually really simple, and if your really like measuring I suggest finding a recipe because I literally just threw some stuff together.

First I melted butter in the microwave and divided it into two 8″ round pans. It would probably be easier if you suck at dividing things equally to use a rectangle cake pan, but my cake carrier is for round cakes and I haven’t’ invested in a sheet cake one yet.

Then I dumped in some brown sugar, cracked open my canned pineapple slices, plopped them in (coincidentally there were exactly ten slices which turned out pretty awesome because I could only fit five in each pan), put a cherry in the middle of each slice and then in the middle of the pan just for sass.
That one on the bottom of the picture looks so perfect it seems fake, love it.

Then I divided up the cake batter using my inacurate method of spooning and then eyeballing, and finally “weighing” them in the same hand. Then baked according to the box.

Here is a secret that I inherited from my mother, who’s cakes are way better known than mind. Her’s are beautiful as well as delicious, I’m working on the beautiful part.After you take the cake out of the oven, grab some wax paper and put it on top of the cake. Only let it cool a little bit before you do this or it won’t work. Then take a kitchen towel and press the cake down, I usually do the edges first then the middle. You aren’t trying to kill it so be kind of gentle, but firm. If you do it right, not only will you not have a cake with a dome on top, but you’ll also seal in all of that wonderful moisture from your wet ingredients, and make a denser cake that still has a nice fluff from all of that beating that you did (even using a mix always beat the heck out of the butter before adding dry ingredients and alternate dry with wet). Yes that was one sentence.

And if you like pineapple you’ll probably want to cut into this right away after stacking them, no frosting required.

Leave a Reply

